Pierce County Council

COVID-19 Operational Changes of the Office of the Pierce County Council
The Office of the Pierce County Council is closed to the public.  Our office can be contacted at 253-798-7777 or contact the appropriate staffThe Pierce County Council provides remote access and participation in its meetings. Learn how to get involved.
Dave Morell (Placeholder Image)
Dave Morell
District 1

Hans Zeiger
District 2

Amy Cruver
District 3

Ryan Mello
District 4

Marty Campbell
District 5

Jani Hitchen
District 6 
Derek Young
District 7
  1. Sustainability 2030 Plan update before Council

    At a 1:30 p.m. special meeting Feb. 17, 2021 the Community Development Committee will begin its review of the Pierce County Sustainability 2030 plan. Read on...
  2. How CARES Act monies helped Pierce County businesses

    Council's Economic & Infrastructure Development Committee heard from Economic Development Jan. 26, 2021 how the county provided vital supplies and funding to Pierce County businesses in 2020 to help them continue to operate and stay open. Read on...
  3. Pierce County Council elects 2021 leadership, welcomes new members

    Councilmember Derek Young will serve as Council Chairman, Councilmember Dave Morell will continue as Vice Chairman and Councilmember Marty Campbell will serve as Executive Pro Tem. Read on...
  4. Pierce County Council Swearing-In Ceremonies

View All

What's on the agenda?

Each week the Pierce County Council holds a series of meetings to discuss and review ordinances, motions and budgets to ensure county government operates in an efficient, transparent and cost-effective manner with equal access for all county residents. Members meet as a collective body every Tuesday at 3 p.m. 

Items before Council:

Monday (Feb. 22) 

10 a.m.: Rules and Operations committee meeting to review agendas for March 1-5, 2021 and the March 2, 2021 meeting agenda. Other items up for consideration:

  • R2021-17 appointment of Jennifer Tetatzin as the new Pierce County Planning and Public Works director; 
  • 2021-7 precinct boundary maps; 
  • R2021-7 related to the storm drainage and surface water utility and floodplain property acquisition authorization; 
  • R2021-9 an interlocal agreement with the Flood Control Zone District to accept an economic stimulus grant for construction of the Huge Creek culvert replacement project. 

Join via Zoom


11 a.m.: Study Session to review the day’s agenda. Join via Zoom.

1:30 p.m.: Public Safety Committee will hear a presentation on Racial Equity and Business. Join via Zoom.


Tuesday (Feb. 23) 

9:30 a.m.: Economic and Infrastructure Development Committee will review:

  • 2021-9, an ordinance proposing updates to Pierce County Code related to the design, siting and permitting of wireless facilities and deployment of broadband infrastructure for all areas within unincorporated Pierce County;
  • 2021-10, an ordinance prohibiting compression brakes along a section of Canyon Road East in the Midland-Waller-Summit area and requesting appropriate signage; and
  • Hold a COVID-19 business recovery discussion with Economic Development Director Betty Capestany. Join via Zoom.


12 p.m.: Study Session to review the day’s agenda. Join via Zoom.


3 p.m.: Regular meeting. Items before Council for final consideration:

  • R2021-17 appointment of Jennifer Tetatzin as the new Pierce County Planning and Public Works director. Join via Zoom.


Wednesday (Feb. 24)

10 a.m.: Performance Audit Committee will review the committee’s proposed work plan and the committee’s legislation review. Join via Zoom.

11 a.m.: Special Study Session to review Council Rules of Procedure. Join via Zoom.

Moving forward in the time of a pandemic

Law and Justice view report icon

Sustainability 2030 report cover
Boosting Pierce County icon with image of WIFI signal and Tacoma Narrows Bridges in background
  1. Covid-19 Information
  2. Key Reports
  3. Get Connected

COVID-19 news and information

Feb. 1 Pierce County moved to Phase 2 of the state's Healthy Washington - Roadmap to Recovery plan

Learn more about what's open in Phase 2.


For the latest public health information about COVID-19 and mass vaccination sites in Pierce County visit the Tacoma-Pierce County Health Department.


About the Council

The Council is the legislative branch of Pierce County government and is the policy-determining body of the County, as provided by the County Charter. The Council has all powers of the County not otherwise reserved to the people, the Executive, or general law. Members are elected from seven contiguous and equally populated districts. Each county councilmember represents a district having a population of approximately 125,000 people and is elected to four year terms.

Pierce County Council

930 Tacoma Avenue South Room 1046
Tacoma Wa 98402 

Contact Us

Phone: (253) 798-7777
Toll Free: (800) 992-2456
Fax: (253) 798-7509
Email: pccouncil@piercecountywa.gov

Visiting the Pierce County Council?

Use the Gold Parking Lot (Validated). Learn about other available parking.